El Overo wins Women’s Open at Palermo

The undefeated El Overo Z7 UAE once again beat La Dolfina – until today two-time defending champion of the tournament – by 17 to 14 and won the VII° Abierto Argentino de Polo Femenino presented by Cremas Caviahue, in a match played on Sunday 3/12 on field 2 at Palermo.

In a great game, in which 31 goals were scored – the most in a Women’s Open final – El Overo was consecrated, thanks to the good play of Hazel Jackson and Millie Hine, very well accompanied by Hope Arellano and Izzy Parsons.

On the side of La Dolfina, Cande Fernández Araujo was the highest scorer not only of the match (12) but also of the tournament (31).


After a year’s absence in the decisive match, El Overo Z7 UAE, winner of the 2019 and 2020 editions, returned to the grand final – the sixth time it has played it – and took the three-time championship.

Hazel Jackson and Millie Hine clinched their third title at the tournament; while Izzy Parsons and Hope Arellano take home the trophy for the first time.

In addition, it is the first time that a team made up of four foreign polo players, three British: Jackson, Hine and Parsons; and an American, Arellano.

For its part, La Dolfina continues to be the tournament’s top winner with four titles (2017, 18, 21 and 22) and is the only one to have played in all seven finals.

As a consolation, in this tournament three of its members surpassed 100 goals in the Open, Nina Clarkin (reached 105), Cande Fdez. Araujo (109) and Mía Cambiaso (100).

We remember that the all-time top scorer of the tournament is Lía Salvo, who has 132 goals in the Open.


AAP and Tipa y Caña MVP Award: Millie Hine.

Motorola Award for the Goalscorer of the Final: Candelaria Fernández Araujo.

Carolina Herrera Award for the Revelation Player of the Tournament: Hope Arellano.

Myriam Heguy Award and Municipality of Cañuelas for Fair Play: Nina Clarkin.

AAP and Casa Libertas Award for the best horse of the final: Lamore Que Ironía, played by Mía Cambiaso.

AACCP Award for the best product of the Argentine Polo Breed: Don Ercole Cruz de Malta, played by Hope Arellano.

Duthie & Doille Award for the best mounted player of the final: Hope Arellano.

Finalist Teams and Progression:

The Overo Z7 UAE: Hope Arellano 9 (3 goals, one Penalty 1), Isabelle Parsons 9 (2, one Penalty 1), Hazel Jackson 9 (4) and Millie Hine 8 (8 goals, five penalties). Total: 35.

La Dolfina: Mía Cambiaso 8 (1), Milagros Fernández Araujo 8 (1), Carina Clarkin 10 and Candelaria Fernández Araujo 9 (12, ten penalties). Total: 35.

El Overo Z7 UAE: 3-2, 7-2, 9-5, 14-9, 16-11 and 17-14.

Judges: Federico Martelli and Martín Aguerre. Arbitrator: Hernán Tasso.