Horse & Country TV

Exclusive coverage of the Argentine Open Polo Championships comes to Horse & Country TV on Wednesday January 19, 2011 at 9pm. Viewers can enjoy more of the 117th Open (the Campeonato Argentino Abierto de Polo del Bicentenario Movistar) on H&C than has ever been seen before on UK television.

The seven-round tournament is played at the so-called “Polo Cathedral” – the famous Fields 1 and 2 of Campo Argentino de Polo, in Palermo.

Eight 30 to 40-goal teams are in contention in this new version of the top world interclub tournament. Grouped in two pools, the teams include nine of the ten highest ranked Argentine players, such as Mariano Aguerre, Adolfo Cambiaso, Bartolomé Castagnola, Pablo Mac Donough, Lucas Monteverde, Juan Martín Nero, Miguel Novillo Astrada, Facundo Pieres and Gonzalo Pieres.

The teams are: La Dolfina Peugeot (defending champion), Ellerstina Etiqueta Negra, La Aguada BMW (last winner of the AAP Triple Crown in 2003 and second champion in the history of the Argentine Polo Open including four brothers), Indios Chapaleufú II Cardón, Pilará Piaget, Chapa Uno Hope Funds, and the two teams that have qualified for the tournament, Alegría Air France and Sao José Audi.

Coverage from the tournament (which is played from November 20th – December 11th 2010) will be televised weekly on H&C TV (Sky Channel 280) from the 19th January 2011 every Wednesday evening at 9pm for 10 weeks, with a second screening on Saturday evenings at 7pm.

For more information and TV schedules



Argentine Open Polo Championship





Tx date



LA DOLFINA vs SAO JOSE  ( Fecha 1 – Zona A )  – Cancha 2

19th January

CHAPA UNO vs PILARA   ( Fecha 1 – Zona A ) – Cancha 1

26th January

ELLERSTINA vs ALEGRIA  ( Fecha 1 – Zona B ) – Cancha 2

2nd February

LA AGUADA vs I.CHAPALEUFU II  ( Fecha 1 – Zona B ) – Cancha 1

9th February

PILARA vs SAO JOSE  ( Fecha 2 – Zona A ) – Cancha 2

16th February

LA DOLFINA vs CHAPA UNO  ( Fecha 2 – Zona A ) – Cancha 1

23rd February

ELLERSTINA vs I. CHAPALEUFU II  ( Fecha 2 – Zona B ) – Cancha 1

2nd March

LA DOLFINA vs PILARA  ( Semifinal 1 )  – Cancha 1

9th March

ELLERSTINA vs LA AGUADA  ( Semifinal 2 ) – Cancha 1

16th March

ELLERSTINA vs LA DOLFINA  ( Final )  – Cancha 1 

23rd March