La Karina wins Maserati Fall 20–Goal Challenge

Karina wins Maserati Fall 20-Goal Challenge

Alex Webbe

La Karina (Brian Boyd, Brandon Phillips, Mariano Gonzalez
and Tom Morley) scored wins over KIG (Bash Kazi, Hector Galindo, Sugar Erskine
and Kris Kampsen) and Grand Champions (Wes Finlayson, Jason Crowder, Tommy
Biddle and Joey Casey) to capture the 2012 Maserati Fall 20-goal Challenge
Sunday afternoon at the Grand Champions Polo Club.

La Karina opened the three team round-robin against KIG, scoring
the first goal on a penalty conversion from Brian Boyd.  Hector Galindo got KIG on the scoreboard for
a 1-1 tie.

Second chukker action was an exercise in defense with
English 6-goaler Tom Morley scoring the only goal of the chukker on a score
from the field.  At the end of two, La
Karina led, 2-1.

Kampsen got on the scoreboard for KIG with his first goal
of the game in the third chukker, but La Karina fired back with Boyd adding his
second goal and Mariano Gonzalez scoring to give La Karina the 4-2 win.


In the second leg of the round-robin, La Karina sat down
while KIG took on Grand Champions.  KIG
jumped out to an early lead on goals from Sugar Erskine and Kris Kampsen
(penalty conversion).  Jason Crowder
supplied the only first chukker score for Grand Champions.  KIG had the lead, 2-1 after the first period.

Grand Champions tallied goals from Wes Finlayson and Joey
Casey in the second.  KIG came up with a
single goal from the field from Hector Galindo for a 3-3 tie.

Tommy Biddle scored on a 60-yard penalty shot in the
third period for the only goal of the chukker and Grand Champions rode on to a
4-3 victory.


La Karina was on a roll when it entered the final
face-off with Grand Champions.  Wes
Finlayson scored the opening goal of the first chukker on a well-placed shot
from the field.  La Karina fired back
with goals from Tom Morley and Brandon Phillips.  La Karina held the early lead, 2-1.

Both teams battled fruitlessly in the second period with
great defensive efforts on both sides making for an exciting but scoreless
chukker.  Going into the final chukker,
La Karina guarded a one goal, 2-1 edge.

The scoring went back and forth in the final
chukker.  Mariano Gonzalez put La Karina
ahead, 3-1, with a goal from the field. 
Tommy Biddle answered with a penalty conversion, 3-2.  Brian Boyd scored from the field, 4-2. And
Jason Crowder responded for Grand Champions, 4-3.  Brandon Phillips wrapped it up with his
second goal of the mini-game and La Karina took the Maserati Fall 20-Goal
Challenge Cup with a 5-3 win.