The excitement had been building for months, but on Friday, February 12th the wait was over as a glamorous group of over 400 polo stars, friends, families and fans gathered in tribute to welcome the newest members to the polo Hall of Fame; Hector Galindo, William “Billy” Post II, Richard C. Riemenschneider, Russell A. Sheldon, Jr. and the ponies Toy Moon and Califa. 


Starting with the “Grand Reception” sponsored by Marc and Melissa Ganzi, Grand Champions Polo Club, and Chukker TV, guests got their first glimpse of the recently completed new wing of the Museum that features an expansive new gallery space, additional state-of-the-art conference and exhibit areas and new library. The champagne flowed at the “Bubbles Bar” as the crowd spilled into the new gallery space where they were able to mingle and enjoy a beautiful array of hors ‘oeuvres and peruse the Silent Auction while serenaded by the talented songstress Victoria Cardona.  


Melissa and Marc Ganzi also graciously served as General Chairmen of the event and John Wash and International Polo Club Palm Beach was the sponsor for the fabulous seated dinner. Wayne and Pamela Garrison were the sponsors for the evening’s entertainment, the great band Los Olas, Marty Cregg, Chairman of the Museum, served as the emcee and Museum President Melissa Ganzi presented the awards. The wine and spirits throughout the entire evening were sponsored courtesy of Margaret (Lipman) Orthwein, by Lipman Brothers LLC, Brown-Forman, Bacardi USA, Tito’s Handmade Vodka, Fetzer and Jekel Vineyards and Korbel.

Accepting the awards were Elbridge T. Gerry, Jr. on behalf of his father Hall of Famer Elbridge T. Gerry, Sr. for his great mare Toy Moon; Mariano Aguerre accepted on behalf of owner Peter Brant for the legendary gelding Califa; Billy Sheldon and sister Sherry Sheldon Gibson came from California with family and friends to accept the posthumous Iglehart Award for their father Russell A. Sheldon, Jr.; Richard Riemenschneider was on hand to accept his award surrounded by a huge contingent of “Remo fans”; Elizabeth Post accepted the award for her father, 1930s polo star William “Billy” Post II, and the crowd literally erupted as Hector Galindo was called to the podium to accept his well-deserved award.  

Hall of Famers who attended the dinner were Red Armour, Julian Hipwood, Skey Johnston, Steve Orthwein, Jack Oxley, Owen Rinehart and Bill Sinclaire along with Iglehart award winners George Alexander, Tony Coppola, Merle Jenkins, and Davey Rizzo. Many other great polo stars were also in attendance. 


Our thanks to all our gracious sponsors and also to Alex Pacheco for his photographic support, to Melinda Brewer for the Horses to Remember portraits, and to volunteers who help with the dinner – Maria and Vincent Feola, Linda Clarke, Chris Vining, Debra Massey, Farish Ensenat, and Melanja Jones