St Moritz Polo World Cup on Snow 2014

St Moritz Polo World Cup on Snow 2014

The St. Moritz Polo World Cup on Snow, a polo tournament with a great tradition, is celebrating its 30th anniversary next year. The tournament, which was first held in the winter of 1985, has grown in size over the years and become increasingly professional, and is now one of the most famous and oldest winter polo tournaments worldwide. For 30 years, the best polo players in the world have come together to chase the orange ball over the frozen Lake St. Moritz and accumulate points for the individual player rankings. Each year, over four days, thousands of spectators follow the top-class polo while enjoying the incomparable atmosphere on the lake.


From Thursday, 30 January, to Sunday, 2 February 2014, spectators and guests will have the chance to experience the 30th St. Moritz Polo World Cup on Snow. Against a breathtaking alpine backdrop 1,800 metres above sea level, the four teams, Cartier, Ralph Lauren, Deutsche Bank and BMW, will be entering with a team handicap of 17 and 18 goals each and promise exciting games at the highest level.



Team BMW

1. Richard Davis, GBR, 0

2. Jonny Good, GBR, 5

3. Tarquin Southwell, GBR, 4

4. John-Paul Clarkin, NZL, 8

Total handicap: 17


Team Deutsche Bank

1. Karan Thapar, GBR, 0

2. Ryan Pemble, GBR, 5

3. Oliver Hipwood, GBR, 5

4. Glen Gilmore, AUS, 7


Total handicap: 17


Team Cartier

1. Jonathan Munro Ford, AUS, 0

2. Max Charlton GBR, 6

3. Chris Hyde, GBR, 6

4. Hissam Ali Hyder, PAK, 6


Total handicap: 18

Team Ralph Lauren

1. Michael Bickford, USA, 1

2. Jamie Morrison, GBR, 3

3. Nacho Figueras, ARG, 6

4. Ruki Baillieu, AUS, 7


Total handicap: 17



In addition to peak sporting performance, the 30th St. Moritz Polo World Cup on Snow offers its guests an ample programme of exclusive social eventsLive. International personalities from the worlds of politics, business and society will meet again this year to relish the unique atmosphere on the frozen lake.