The McLaren Cup – Day 5

Bin Drai makes it to the semifinals of The McLaren Cup 

Bin Drai qualified to the semifinals of The McLaren Cup after defeating Zedan by 10 goals to 8 in an exciting double action day at the Dubai Polo & Equestrian Club. 

Patron Saeed Bin Drai ́s team joins Zedan in the next stage of the first trophy of the Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series 2016.
After today ́s Mahra early victory against Habtoor Polo by 7 goals to 6, two places are left in the semifinals. One of the remaining places will be decided in tomorrow ́s match between UAE Polo and Wolves and the other one will come out from a shootout with Habtoor, Mahra and the looser of tomorrow ́s game, taking part. 

Two thrilling matches were held this afternoon at the Dubai Polo & Equestrian Club with a great polo level and plenty of action. 

Mahra played a complete match, with excellent teamwork and strong defense to defeat the always tough Habtoor Polo team.
Isidro Strada, from Mahra Polo, was the MVP and top scorer of the game with 4 goals and Guillermo Cuitiño and Matías Torres Zavaleta, with two goals each, the top scorers in Habtoor Polo team. 

Match progression:
2-1/ 3-2/ 6-3/ 6-4/ 7-6 

The second match of the day also brought a great polo level with Bin Drai and Zedan playing one of the best games of the season.
Bin Drai achieved a great victory by 10 goals to 8 after five chukkers of continuous action enjoyed by polo spectators. 

Pablo Mac Donough (Zedan) was the top scorer of the match with 6 goals and Marcos Panelo (Bin Drai) with 4 the top scorer in the winning team. 

Match progression:
Bin Drai:
3-3/ 5-4/ 6-6/ 9-7/ 10-8 

The McLaren Cup will continue tomorrow at the Dubai Polo & Equestrian Club with UAE Polo playing against Wolves Polo from 3 pm.  

Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series (Dubai Open), an 18 Goal Handicap competition, enters its seventh year under the Patronage of HH Sheikh Maktoum bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Deputy Ruler of Dubai. The tournament is now the highest handicap in the UAE. 

The Dubai Open has been split into two tournaments. Starting with the McLaren Cup 2016, which runs from Friday January 22, 2016 to Friday February 5, 2016. The second tournament, the Julius Baer Gold Cup, commences on Friday, February 19, 2016 to Friday March 11, 2016. 

The Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series is the fourth-largest tournament of its kind after Argentina, the US and the UK. First founded by Mohammed Al Habtoor in 2009, the tournament is the premier regional polo competition of the year, and attracts VIPs, society figures, and senior corporate executives from across the GCC. It has grown in tandem with the city of Dubai and since 2012, it is the only tournament in the UAE to be recognized and certified by the World Polo Tour (WPT). 

It is played under the banner of the Hurlingham Polo Association (HPA), with the Gold Cup being played according to HPA rules and the provision of umpires is managed under strict international supervision by the HPA. 

The participating teams will host some of the top-ranking World Polo Tour players, including Pablo Mac Donough, the 10-goal superstar and two-time ‘Triple Crown Champion with La Dolfina’; Lucas Montverde (9-goal handicap); Guillermo Terrera (8-goal handicap), Alfredo Cappella Barabucci (8-goal handicap) and Alejandro Novillo Astrada (8-goal handicap) and many others. The Dubai Polo Gold Cup will be held at the Dubai Polo & Equestrian Club in Arabian Ranches. 

Six polo teams will be participating in the McLaren Cup 2016 18-goal handicap: 

Mahra Polo – Patron: Rashid Al Habtoor

Bin Drai Polo Team – Patron: Saeed Bin Drai 

Habtoor Polo Team – Patron: Mohammed Al Habtoor 

UAE Polo Team – Patron: Her Highness Sheikha Maitha bint Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum 

Zedan Polo Team – Patron: Amr Zedan 

Habtoor Wolves Polo Team – Patron: Ahmed Mohammed Al Habtoor / Khalaf Rashid Al Habtoor