Tortugas Open

La Dolfina Polo Ranch and La Dolfina Victorious on Day One of Tortugas Open


The opening day of the 2018 Tortugas Open saw La Dolfina Polo Ranch defeat La Aguada 14-9, while La Dolfina defeated Alegria La Irenita 21-5 at the Tortugas Country Club.


The opening game saw a strong La Dolfina Polo Ranch (LDPR) team performance overwhelm a struggling La Aguada outfit in a high scoring match where every player contributed to the scoresheet. LDPR dominated the first half as they raced out to a 7-3 advantage behind four unanswered goals in a strong 2nd chukka. Led by Diego Cavanagh and Guillermo Terrera, who finished with seven and five goals respectively, LDPR took advantage of La Aguada’s indiscipline, including a red card awarded to Miguel Novillo Astrada in the fifth chukka, to run away with the game.


After a fourth chukka that saw LDPR extend their lead to six, the remainder of the game saw LDPR manage their lead behind a clinical performance of teamwork. Substitute Rodrigo Andrade filled in admirably on the defensive end as La Aguada was held to just nine shots in the game, including an inaccurate 3 for 8 from the penalty line that left them unable to match LDPR’s relentless attack. Doubling La Aguada up on shots from the field, LDPR finished 50% from the field on 9 of 18 shooting to complete an impressive game in the tournament opener.


The second game of the day saw the 10-goal stars of La Dolfina blow away Alegria La Irenita with a powerful performance to set the tone for their 2018 Triple Crown run. Every player on La Dolfina scored at least four goals in the game, as the proficient La Dolfina balanced attack was on full display. Pablo MacDonough finished with an impressive 8 goals, including two from distance to lead all players on the day. La Dolfina were allowed too much space to run and pass freely, with Alegria La Irenita a step behind and unable to impose their game plan at all in the game. Alegria La Irenita scored just one goal in the opening three chukkas, while La Dolfina dominated possession to open up an 11-1 lead. Alegria La Irenita had their strongest chukka of the game in the fourth chukka scoring three goals but were matched by La Dolfina’s offense as the deficit remained at ten entering the second half. 


La Dolfina did not relent in their assault on Alegria La Irenita, scoring at least two goals in every chukka except the final chukka, when their lead was already at 16 goals. Matias MacDonough made his return to the Triple Crown, leading Alegria La Irenita with three goals, but the outcome was decided early in the match. Outshooting their opponents 28-8, La Dolfina shot 57% from the field in a relentless attack. Winning 22 of 31 throw-ins in the game, La Dolfina left Alegria La Irenita chasing, which provided space for the 10-goalers to display their talent. Juan Martin Nero and Adolfo Cambiaso directed the La Dolfina attack in a dominant 21-5 victory.