X World Polo Championship 2015, San Cristobal Polo Club, Chile

X World Polo Championship 2015, San Cristobal Polo Club, Chile

By Victoria Elsbury-Legg


All eyes will soon be turning to Chile, more particularly the pitches of the Club de Polo y Equitacion San Cristobal in Santiago where from the end of March players from around the world will gather to compete in the 10th FIP World Polo Championships.  


The tournament is for men’s national teams, up to a handicap of 14 goals.  From the qualifying stages six teams will now go through to Chile, including team England (Peter Webb, Will Emerson, George Pearson and Tommy Beresford), who, despite some strong competition won their qualifying stage last September at Beaufort Polo Club, and will be joining home side Chile, along with Pakistan, Argentina, USA and Brazil for matches beginning on Tuesday 24th March 2015.


In the Hotel Radisson – Petra L a Dehesa, Santiago on February 17th, the Zone Draw and Game Schedule was announced:


Zone A: Chile, Pakistan and England


Zone B: Argentina, USA and Brazil


With the match schedule as detailed below:


Tuesday March 24th

3PM: Argentina vs. Brazil

5PM: Chile vs. England


Wednesday March 25th

3PM: USA vs. Argentina

5PM: England vs Pakistan


Thursday March 26th

3PM: USA vs Brazil

5PM: Chile vs. Pakistan


Semi-finals will take place on Saturday 28th March, followed by the finals on Sunday March 29th