XV Julio Novillo Astrada Cup

Power Infraestructure captured the XV Julio Novillo Astrada Cup


Power Infraestructure defeated El Milagro 13-8 and won the XV Julio Novillo Astrada Cup, the opening competition of the 2018 Season Presented by Río Uruguay Seguros, at La Aguada Polo Club, in Open Door, Argentina.


Following the rain delay, the final day of the club’s premier competition were held on a spectacular sunny spring day, ideal to spend with family and friends while enjoying good polo.


The championship match between Power Infraestructure and El Milagro had a very close and balanced first half, with three consecutive ties. But Power Infraestructure managed to dominate the following three chukkas and scored enough goals to turn the match into their favour, led by a great team effort and the amazing performances by Miguel Mendoza, Alejandro Muzzio, Valerio Zubiaurre and Tomás Beresford (Power Infraestructure: 2-2, 3-3, 5-5, 8-6, 10-7, 13-8).


El Milagro featured three changes: Benjamin Araya (h) filled in for Santiago Solari; Eduardo Novillo Astrada (h) replaced Ignacio Novillo Astrada; and Gonzalo Lozano took Federico Tomasevich’s place.


Earlier in the day, Los Cocos beat La Ensenada by a close 10-9 score, following a tight match that was decided in OT (Los Cocos: 1-3, 3-5, 5-6, 6-6, 6-8, 9-9, 10-9). Alfredo Bigatti (8) replaced Miguel Novillo Astrada (8) in Los Cocos.


The awards were as follows:


MVP: Miguel Mendoza

Fair Play: Benjamin Araya (h)


Best Polo Argentino Bred, awarded by the Argentine Polo Pony Breeders Assn.: Open Amapola (Open Padrino x Open Magnolia), ridden by Francisco Irastorza.

Jury: Tomás Lalor

Presented the blanket: Miguel Novillo Astrada


Following the awards presentation, and as always happen at the Novillo Astrada family’s home, players, sponsors and guests enjoyed the fun of the friendly after polo.


Thank you to eveyone for coming and for the support, and we are looking very much forward to seeing you next year for another edition of the Julio Novillo Astrada Cup!



El Milagro: Federico Tomasevich 1 (Gonzalo Lozano 2), Francisco Irastorza 6, Santiago Solari 6 (Benjamin Araya h 6), Ignacio Novillo Astrada 9 (Eduardo Novillo Astrada Jr. 8). Total: 22

Power Infraestructure: Miguel Mendoza 1, Valerio Zubiaurre h 8, Alejandro Muzzio 8, Tomás Beresford 5. Total: 22

Los Cocos: Rafael Zubillaga 0, Valentin Novillo Astrada 6, Miguel Novillo Astrada 8, Tomás Lalor 6. Total: 20

La Ensenada: Ernesto Gutierrez 0 (Ramón Britos 0), Cristian Laprida h 8 (Ignacio Laprida 8), Jerónimo del Carril 7, Juan Martín Zubía 7. Total: 22




Monday October 22 (Matchday 1)

11am: El Milagro 11 vs. Los Cocos 7

Wednesday October 24 (Matchday 2)

4pm: El Milagro 9 vs. La Ensenada 8 (OT)

4pm: Power Infraestructure 12 vs. Los Cocos 11


Friday October 26 (Matchday 1)

3pm: Power Infraestructure 9 vs. La Ensenada 8


Monday October 29 (Matchday 3)

2,30pm: Los Cocos 10 vs. La Ensenada 9

4pm: El Milagro 11 vs. Power Infraestructure 8

FINALS – Thursday, November 1

2pm, Subsidiary: Los Cocos 10 vs. La Ensenada 9

4pm, Final XV Julio Novillo Astrada Cup: Power Infraestructure 13 vs. El Milagro 8