130th Argentine Open Polo Championship – Day 9

Kicking-off the final weekend of preliminary play in the 130th Argentine Open Polo Championship at Palermo, La Hache Cría & Polo (Rufino Bensadon, Carlos Maria Ulloa, Facundo Sola, Joaquin Pittaluga) faced La Esquina La Mascota (Pascual Sainz de Vicuña, Cristian Laprida, Lucas James, Ignacio Laprida).

Following an opening goal off the mallet of La Esquina La Mascota’s Ignacio Laprida, La Hache Cría & Polo promptly took charge, scoring six unanswered on contributions from all four teammates, with Sola leading the charge in open play. Utilizing their opportunities from the penalty line, La Esquina La Mascota managed to convert three goals on four attempts, but La Hache Cría & Polo’s dominant start combined with their own success at the line, gave them the commanding 15-6 lead at the break.

Matching each other in goals scored in the second half, each team posted five from the field, with Cristian Laprida leading the offensive efforts for La Esquina La Mascota, while Bensadon blazed the trail for La Hache Cría & Polo. Assembling success on conversions throughout the second half, a balanced effort of striking from La Hache Cría & Polo combined with their early lead led to the 22-13 victory. Each officially concluding their season, La Hache Cría & Polo have previously qualified for the 2024 Triple Crown, while La Esquina La Mascota must participate in the “qualy” next season for the opportunity to compete in the 131st edition of the Argentine Open.

Concluding play in Zone A, undefeated heavyweights La Dolfina Saudi (Adolfo Cambiaso, David “Pelon” Stirling, Poroto Cambiaso, Juan Martin Nero) went head-to-head against La Hache La Roca (Pablo Pieres, Hilario Ulloa, Guillermo Caset, Francisco Elizalde).

In an evenly matched contest, both teams struggled to find a consistent offensive rhythm in open play. Combining for just two field goals in the first half, each found took advantage of their scoring opportunities from the line. Converting three goals on five shots, Pieres led La Hache La Roca, while La Dolfina Saudi’s leading scorer Poroto Cambiaso went five for six at the line to give his team a narrow 7-4 lead at the half.

Emerging from the break, efforts from Ulloa and Pieres brought La Hache La Roca within one, but La Dolfina Saudi’s ability to break through from the field kept them in the lead. Featuring goals from La Dolfina Saudi’s Nero and Stirling combined with four conversions from the Cambiaso’s, the reigning champions sealed the 16-12 triumph to advance into the final for the 23rd time in the prestigious competition. Celebrating personal milestones, Poroto Cambiaso surpassed the 100-goal mark in the Open, while Adolfo Cambiaso continued to cement his renowned legacy exceeding 1,100 goals in the tournament.

Upcoming Schedule
Sunday, November 26
Ellerstina Yellow Rose vs La Irenita Clinova
La Natividad vs La Ensenada Brubank

Photo Credit: ©Matías Callejo/Prensa AAP