Justerini & Brooks Prince of Wales Trophy – Final

Park Place Rises in Overtime to Claim Justerini & Brooks Prince of Wales Trophy

The awaited finale of the Justerini & Brooks Prince of Wales Trophy hosted by the Royal County of Brookshire Polo Club featured a highly contested battle between Park Place (Andrey Borodin, Matt Perry, Facundo Pieres, James Harper, sub. Gonzalo Deltour) and Vikings (Siri Evjemo-Nysveen, James Beim, Diego Cavanagh, Juan Martin Zubia).

Assembling at Zacara due to weather conditions, Vikings took control early posting a four-goal unanswered chukka with a balanced offensive effort from Zubia, Beim and Cavanagh. Unable to earn a shot in either open play or at the penalty line in the first, Pieres brought Park Place’s offense to life, leading the charge with four goals to tie the match 6-all at the half. Trading goals in the fourth, a drive from Evjemo-Nysveen broke the stalemate in favor of Vikings. Leading Park Place with six in the contest, Pieres hit a crucial penalty attempt to send the match into overtime. Winning the throw-in, Park Place took advantage of their offensive possession, driving down the field as Pieres sent the ball through the posts to score the golden goal and deliver Park Place the coveted Justerini & Brooks Prince of Wales Trophy 10-9.

Best Playing Pony was awarded to “Open Easy Fly,” played and owned by Facundo Pieres.