Queen’s Cup – Final

Murus Sanctus 11 – 10 La Magdeleine at The Queen’s Ground

Navigating through a deep field of seventeen teams over four weeks of elite competition, Murus Sanctus and La Magdeleine went head-to-head on the historic Queen’s Ground to crown a new Queen’s Cup champion. Posting an early conversion off the mallet of La Magdeleine’s Santiago Laborde to open the scoring, Murus Sanctus was on the attack hitting three in the chukka, including a two from Alejandro Muzzio to take a 3-1 lead. Taking advantage of Murus Sanctus’ foul troubles in the second, three penalty goals from La Magdeleine’s Pablo Mac Donough were answered on two goals in open play from a driving Polito Pieres to maintain Murus Sanctus’ narrow one goal edge. With a combined five field shots between the two teams in the third, the accuracy of the evenly matched opponents was on full display before the horn. Mac Donough and Facundo Fernandez Llorente found the goal in the chukka, as Marco Araya and Pieres delivered for Murus Sanctus. Each shooting over 60% in the first half, with Murus Sanctus recording an impressive 83% from the field, the deadlocked teams made their way into the tents tied 7-7 at the half.

Emerging with a charge, Murus Sanctus generated much needed separation to open the second half of play. Pinning La Magdeleine on defense, Pieres and Muzzio worked in tandem from the field to combine for three and take a 10-7 lead. Generating only two shots with no opportunities to score at the penalty line, La Magdeleine was forced to make a late push in the sixth chukka. Rebounding on back-to-back goals from Mac Donough and Santiago Laborde, La Magdeleine managed to cut their deficit down to one. Stifling La Magdeleine’s sudden momentum, a brilliant drive from Pieres was all Murus Sanctus needed to hold off Mac Donough’s final effort, as Murus Sanctus held on for the electrifying 11-10 victory to capture the organizations first Cartier Queen’s Cup title.

Leading Murus Sanctus with an impressive seven goal performance, including six in open play, Polito Pieres earned Most Valuable Player. Best Playing Pony was awarded to “La Kiosquera,” played by Pablo Mac Donough.

In Sunday’s Sub-Final held at The Duke’s Ground, Vikings defeated Twelve Oaks 10-9. Most Valuable Player was awarded to Juan Martin Zubia. “Delmay Lucero” played by Diego Cavanagh and owned by Haras La Morenita was named Best Playing Pony.


All games are being livestreamed by Guards TV in association with Polocam TV. Go to https://guards.polocam.tv/package

Photo Credit: ©Pablo Ramirez
Video Credit: ©Polocam